Summer School?????

This school year has been full of starts and stops. We started off SO strong! I had a schedule (that we kept!), I was organized, excited and happy with our days. Then LIFE happened. I was put on bed rest 3 0r 4 times, I lost count; had a weekend stay in the hospital for kidney stones, then we had the holidays. And most importantly, Liam made his appearance. Then 2 weeks after he was born, we moved to San Antonio. (Just typing all that makes me tired!) So, needless to say, our schedule flew out the window.

All of the chaos that was the end of 2010, beginning of 2011 has made me re-evaluate the idea of summer break. When my kids were in public school, I looked forward to summer almost as much as them – if not more! The ability to sleep late, wear pajamas all day, and do nothing if we so chose almost made me giddy. Fast forward 2 years and now that is the norm around here! Well, maybe not the sleeping late with Liam here, but the rest is. So, summer is not as exciting as it once was. Especially this summer, being in a new city with a new baby – venturing out during the hot days is even less appealing to me.

So, I have decided to school during the summer. I am not sure how much or how little we will accomplish, but I want to accomplish something other than memorizing Phineas and Ferb episodes! All joking aside, here is what I have decided on for Summer, hopefully starting in mid May:

Math: Continue with Math U See. The kids love the program and it works very well for them. We are currently on the Beta (Olivia) and Gamma (Aiden) level.

Science: Apologia Swimming Creatures of the Fifth Day. I am excited to start this curriculim. I know I am starting with the second book, but my kids want to study sea mammals because Sea World is basically in our back yard. I want to take advantage of our season passes and the shows to add to the lessons. We will go back and complete book 1 next.

Geography: I am going to use Expedition Earth: A Journey Through God’s World by Erica  a http://confessionsofahomeschooler.blogspot.com/

Still trying to figure out what to do for grammar……

How bout you? Are you schooling through the summer or taking a break?

Bree

3 thoughts on “Summer School?????

  1. We school!!!! Doing a short version on fifth day. The notebooks are great have you see them?? The swimming one is much less intense than anatomy!!

    Still pondering on our grammar for next year too!

    What history are you doing??

    • I thought you might school during summer. 😉 I have only seen a sample of the notebooks, but it was enough for me to know I wanted to use them! So excited. I bet the swimming one will be a walk in the park for you guys after Anatomy. (I taught anatomy for a while and it was my toughest class to teach.)

      We are going to do TruthQuest History. American History for Young Students (Exploration – 1800) I love history and this one looks pretty good, has a biblical perspective. Also, there is a notebooking add on that looks awesome! Are you guys doing history?

      Let me know what you decide on grammar!

Leave a Reply

